The Most Country The Most Country

David Davis Header

Henry Awards Presented at Governors Conference on Tourism

By: Staff
Posted: Wednesday, March 06, 2013

The annual Henry Awards Banquet took place on Tuesday evening, March 5, concluding the 39th annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism. The conference was March 3-5 in Hot Springs. The Henry Awards honor individuals and organizations which have made important contributions to the state’s tourism industry in the preceding year.

Richard W. Davies, executive director of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, presided at the banquet and addressed more than 550 attendees concerning tourism issues in Arkansas. Miss Arkansas Sloane Roberts assisted in the presentation of the awards.

1029 The Z Station Manager, Marilyn Wallis was one of three finalists for the Henry Award for Media Support.

The Henry Award recipients for 2012 include:
· Media Support Award: Rex Nelson, North Little Rock
· Bootstrap Award: Downtown Walnut Ridge / Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce
· Arkansas Heritage Award: Civil War Helena
· Grand Old Classic Special Event Award: MusicFest El Dorado
· Outstanding Volunteer Service Award: Arkansas Master Gardeners
· Community Tourism Development Award: City of Bentonville
· The Natural State Award: Great Arkansas Cleanup
· Tourism Special Achievement Award: Southland Park Gaming & Racing, West Memphis
Bill Carter accepted a special Crystal Award in recognition of his work collaborating with Arkansas State University to restore Johnny Cash’s boyhood home in Dyess.
The highlight of the awards ceremony was the naming of the Tourism Person of the Year, which went to Ross Moore of Clinton. Also during the ceremonies, Richard W. Davies was inducted into the Tourism Hall of Fame.
The Henry Awards have been a feature of the annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism since their debut in 1981. The awards are named for Henri de Tonti, founder of Arkansas Post in 1686 and who is often hailed as the first “Arkansas Traveler.”

Terms Of Service  |  Privacy Statement  |  Copyright Statement  |  Advertise With Us
Copyright © and Trademark ™ 2009 All Rights Reserved
Created By: VisionAmp Studios